The William Barclay Cup is one of the oldest bowling competitions in Scotland and started in 1885. Apart from breaks during the war years of 1915 to 1918 and 1941 to 1945, the tournament is played for annually in late May early June, over 3 consecutive Wednesdays.

Lochee BC lifted the cup on Wednesday 8th June and it is only the fourth time in the club’s history that it has won this prestigious competition, having previously won it in 1965, 1977 and 1986.

The Lochee BC rink beat teams from Forfar BC, Kirriemuir BC and the City of Dundee BA on their way to final day last Wednesday.

In a hard fought semi-final, Lochee BC beat Inchture BC by 19 shots to 16 and in a very close final they managed to overcome Abbey BC by 23 shots to 19.

The victorious Lochee rink comprised of Steve Gillespie (lead), Steve McAulay (2nd), Morris Coats (3rd) and Brian Smith (skip).